You could face severe penalties if you are caught with drugs in Pennsylvania. Depending on the drug type and the amount you have, you could be looking at jail time, a fine, or both.
This article will discuss the penalties for drug possession in Pennsylvania and what you should do if you are charged with possession.
Pennsylvania has strict drug laws
Penalties for drug possession in Pennsylvania vary depending on the type and amount of drug involved. Possession of a small amount of marijuana for personal use is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. However, possession of larger amounts of marijuana can be charged as a felony, carrying a prison sentence of up to 5 years and a $50,000 fine.
By comparison, possession of any amount of methamphetamine is also a felony, punishable by up to three years in prison. Heroin, cocaine, and other illegal drugs are also felonies, with penalties ranging from two to 10 years in prison.
In addition, anyone convicted of drug possession in Pennsylvania will have their driver’s license suspended for six months. Repeat offenders will face even harsher penalties, including longer prison sentences and more significant fines.
If you or a loved one has been arrested on drug possession charges in Pennsylvania, don’t try navigating the criminal justice system alone. It is important to get help so that you understand the charges against you and build a strong defense. They will fight for your freedom and work to get the best possible outcome in your case.