Practice Areas

Skilled Defense Against Drugged Driving (DUID) Charges

Cases of driving under the influence of drugs in the state of Pennsylvania are prosecuted similarly to drunk driving cases.

If you are pulled over and found with any measurable amount of an illegal drug in your system, or any amount of a prescription drug for which you do not have a prescription, you will automatically be charged under Pennsylvania law with the same penalties as the highest level of alcohol-intoxicated driving, regardless of whether alcohol was consumed in addition to the drugs.

In the State of Pennsylvania, you can be charged with driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) if you have five nanograms per milliliter of marijuana in your body. Due to the fact that marijuana can remain in your system for 30 days, you could be still charged with a DUID long after the effect of the drug has worn off.

If you are pulled over after having taken prescription or even over-the-counter medication, you can still be convicted for driving under the influence of drugs. This will depend on the officer’s observations of your behavior as well as your performance on the field sobriety test.

Common prescription drugs association with DUID:

  • Xanax
  • Secobarbital
  • Seconal
  • Ritalin
  • Adderall
  • Vicodin
  • Lortab
  • Valium
  • Methadone
  • Morphine
  • Norco
  • Percocet
  • Hydrocodone
  • Codeine
  • Oxycontin
  • Oxycodone

 

Common over-the-counter drugs associated with DUID:

  • Sleeping pills
  • Decongestants
  • Antihistamines

 

Penalties for conviction of driving under the influence of drugs, whether or not alcohol was involved:

First Offense

  • Three days or up to six months in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 12 months
  • A $1,000 – $5,000 fine

Second Offense

  • At least 90 days or up to five years in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 18 months
  • A $1,500 – $10,000 fine

Third Offense

  • At least one to five years in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 18 months
  • A $2,500 – $10,000 fine

Fourth Offense

  • At least one to five years in jail
  • Driver’s license suspension for 18 months
  • A $2,500 – $10,000 fine

Other consequences of being convicted of DUID:

  • Difficulty maintaining current employment
  • Difficulty finding employment
  • An increase in car insurance rates, or even being dropped from your insurance provider
  • Points on your driver’s license
  • Exorbitant financial expenses
  • Difficulty maintaining or renewing your driver’s license as well as other professional licenses
  • Increased health insurance rates
  • Being permanently listed on your public criminal record

Avoiding these consequences is among the many reasons to contact an experienced DUID attorney.

DUID Charges Are Complex – We Can Help You Make Sense Of Them

The attorneys at Chieppor & Egner LLC can help you understand the charges you are facing and will work tirelessly to protect your rights and freedom. To arrange your initial consultation, you can send us a message online or call 717-393-1400.

PRACTICE AREAS