A Law Firm Protecting Young Pennsylvanians Against Underage DUI Charges
If you are under the age of 21 and arrested for a DUI in Pennsylvania, you are automatically charged under the state’s highest BAC tier, regardless of how much or little alcohol you consumed. At a minimum, you will face at least two days or up to six months in jail, a fine of at least $500 (and as much as $5,000), and a suspended driver’s license for 12 months – unless you get into the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program.
How you are prosecuted will depend on your age. If you are over 18, you are an adult and will be prosecuted in exactly the same manner as other adults, even if you are still in high school or college. If you are under 18, your parents will be informed of your arrest and you will receive notification of a juvenile petition that will be processed in Juvenile Court. In either case, it is imperative to work with an experienced defense attorney like those at Chieppor & Egner LLC.
Consequences May Extend Beyond Criminal Sentencing
In addition to hefty fines and jail time, other consequences you may face from an underage DUI:
- Increased auto insurance premiums (or the possibility of being dropped by your provider)
- Difficulty getting accepted to college or staying enrolled
- Losing access to scholarships and student loans
- Points on your driver’s license
- Criminal offense listed on your permanent, public criminal record
- Difficulty maintaining current employment
- Difficulty finding future employment
- International travel restrictions
- Financial burden
- Increased health insurance rates
To mitigate these consequences and protect your future, please seek the help of an experienced attorney immediately.
Discuss Your Case With Us Today
Chieppor & Egner LLC serves clients in and around Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation, where we’ll discuss your charges and legal options. To get started, call 717-985-8358 or fill out an online contact form.